Fed up first year (Computer Science) Watch

luck2luke
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
So i'm fed up of uni overall already. Prior to this I was a vehicle technician (completed a L3 apprenticeship), I did an access course after this and left to study Computer Science at York uni so I could have a better life.

I am finding the course content extremely hard (and it is only the first year), especially for someone who has never programmed before or spent the majority of their life tinkering with computers in comparison to my classmates who are all whizz-kids. The math is difficult and a lot of random notation is thrown at us with the expectation that we already know it. There is around 250+ of us in our year alone so it is hard to get 1-1 tution.

Everyone else gets excited over things like using a multimeter and doing pointless tasks, which I find unproductive and boring. I feel like none of these skills will transfer to the real world and the university is in its own bubble, there is no routine or structure. I have no problem with self studying, but bad teaching is swept under the rug with the excuse that we should be self-studying; what was the point in coming to uni? I would kill for a higher apprenticeship but the funding is non existent for my age group so I am limited to applying for big international companies.

I am beginning to wonder if this was a mistake, or maybe uni is just not for me. I live with my girlfriend on campus, we are tied to a 1 year contract in university housing and she has a teaching job, so even if i wanted to leave I would have to find a job here first.

I am wondering if anyone else has had a similar experience, and could shed some light on this as everyone is pushing me to continue but they have no idea how difficult it is.

Thanks for reading.
Schadenfreude65
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago