Do I stand a chance of getting into Investment Banking? Watch

Msurnnan
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
I am 19 years old, who due to personal issues couldn’t complete A levels. I also have very poor AS levels (BCCD). I’m currently studying economics at the Open University (averaging 83% on essays).
On top of studying economics for ~35 hours p/w, I work 40 hours a p/w in retail banking, have done an IB day school and have self-taught myself how to financial model. I’ve also applied for spring internships (but have got no response as of yet).

Do I stand any realistic chance at getting into a front office IB job? Will my work ethic and resilience overshadow my very poor academic record?
Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play
Last edited by Msurnnan; 3 weeks ago
Bb^
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
Nothing's impossible, but it's worth keeping in mind how most investment banks look for candidates for single positions (based on my own experience in my bank's hiring process for an analyst 1 position):

1. Receive 1,000 applications (number can be +/-, but proportions are right)
2. Remove the 600 applications that are complete no-fits e.g. completely different background, poor skillset, no relevant prior internships, typos in CV etc.
3. Remove the 200 applications from those who did not attend a [top 10] university
4. Remove the 150 applications who did not achieve a good track record of As (or higher) throughout their school tenure
5. Remove the 30 applications where the cover letter / application doesn't fit / make the bank interested
6. Interview 20 candidates
7. Hire 1

The question isn't if you're good enough - maybe you are - but how are you going to get around the system above?

Bb^
gr8wizard10
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
inclined to agree with Bb^

unconventional routes of super hard networking or starting of in audit > getting aca > lateral to a boutique etc.. it's a tough road, without the right starting line