Is uni really worth it? Watch

Jedimonkey
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
So I'm in my first year at uni studying film production. I'm gonna be honest, I'm really not enjoying it. I LOVEEEEEEEDDDDDD college to bits. it was the best 2 years of my life. And I thought to myself, I could carry on studying film at uni to a higher level. People have also mentioned that uni was even "better" than college.

Now that I'm into my second term, nothing's really changed since the first term. I've realised a film degree is pointless as **** since no one really cares about it in the industry. They want experience. Secondly, because I'm really passionate about film, I learnt a lot in college and did loads of stuff on my own. I also made a few shorts films in my spare time. Now in uni, the stuff they are teaching us is stuff I've already learnt (Be it through college or my own studying). Also, they have taught us a few things which I know are utter **** and 100% wrong. I even mentioned it to my old college tutors and they were like "yeah that's wrong". Right now I feel I'm wasting my time and money. It feels like my life is going nowhere. Even if I finish my course in 3 to 4 years time, I'm pretty much gonna be in the same position as I am now. I ain't suddenly gonna be a filmmaker just because I got the degree. Another thing to mention is that uni is pretty much self taught. If I've taught myself quite a bit on my own before I even started uni, do I even really need uni?

I've been toying with the idea of changing degree to something like graphic design (I still enjoy it and it's my backup in case the film stuff doesn't work out) and carry on with my film stuff on my own. Alternatively, I've thought about working full time but still stay enrolled on the course and do course work in my spare time.

What would anyone advise?
velvetzappa
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago