Relating uni course to pgce Watch

kae1234
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Hi,
I am currently studying at the open university doing an open degree with childhood modules. It is childhood and youth and early childhood based. One of the modules is the health and wellbeing of children. I am hoping to start a primary pgce next year however I know that if you’re lucky enough to get an interview you need to explain how your degree relates to the national curriculum. I’m having trouble thinking about how mine does! I know people have gone onto a pgce doing early childhood but it doesn’t relate to a specific subject like English or maths does. I was wondering if anyone has any advice on how they think it relates or has been in the same situation?
Thanks
Dalightfool
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Well, 'cross-curricular learning opportunities' is the buzz phrase at the moment, with literacy and numeracy being shoe-horned into every subject. At least, that's the feeling at secondary now.

I suggest you look at your modules and note down whenever there was something literacy and numeracy based. Then, go through the other subjects in the curriculum and do the same.
ATinyRevolt
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by kae1234)
Hi,
I am currently studying at the open university doing an open degree with childhood modules. It is childhood and youth and early childhood based. One of the modules is the health and wellbeing of children. I am hoping to start a primary pgce next year however I know that if you’re lucky enough to get an interview you need to explain how your degree relates to the national curriculum. I’m having trouble thinking about how mine does! I know people have gone onto a pgce doing early childhood but it doesn’t relate to a specific subject like English or maths does. I was wondering if anyone has any advice on how they think it relates or has been in the same situation?
Thanks