What is studying in QMUL for History like? Watch

harryisalegend
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(for the full 3 years) Do you have to do presentations? How are the lectures/seminars? Are the seminars/lectures more important than the other or are they equally significant that you have to attend both?

Are essays due every week?
CarefreeDreams
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Hi!

I'm in my first year of studying straight History at QMUL.
Speaking from first year on my second term now, you don't have to do a lot of presentations currently. There is one compulsory module in the first term that all History students have to take where you have to present 3 times, but its actually fine (the first 2 times are practice, and the last one is where you're actually assessed). Sometimes depending on your seminar leader, you may have to present individual on the reading of the week, it not as scary as it sounds, you just need to give a quick summary of the reading and then say what you found interesting or what you got from the reading.

Speaking truthfully here, for the first 5 weeks I went to every lecture for all my modules (you take about 3-4 in your first term) but after week 5 I didn't go as regularly. My reasons are as follows: they record every lecture that happens so as long as you are committed to having a dedicated hour to rewatch the lecture in your own time, I don't see the problem. Also first term, I had like 3 9am lectures which was not fun to go to because I'm a commuter from West London so I'd have to get up pretty early or sometimes the train would be too packed and I'd miss the first half of the lecture.

You must must go to ALL YOUR SEMINARS!! They don't check lecture attendance but they do check seminar attendance, and if you miss I think its 3 seminars in a term you have to explain yourself to your adviser.