Today Years Old

Watch
Maven Writers
Badges: 13
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
It's funny how late in the day (rather in life) that one gets to discover something they should have from the get-go. I have a few that are too embarrassing to share. But I recently was told that the phrase "Be there or be square" was from the shapes, as in since you won't be around (a circle), then you'll be another shape (a square).
And is it true that a TV show's first episode is called a Pilot because it is the first to air?
gjd800
Badges: 20
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 2 years ago
The precise etymology of 'pilot episode' is debated, but the likely source is from the adjectival form of pilot used in the following way (circa 1890s):

That serves as a prototype or trial prior to a full-scale operation or activity; experimental, initial.
gjd800
Rep:
Report 2 years ago
The 'square' thing was used in jazz circles in the 1940s to mean 'boring' or 'old fashioned'. I doubt it has any link to 'a-round' at all.
gjd800
Rep:
Report 2 years ago
I had an inkling about both (especially 'pilot'), but I also have a subsciption to the OED and can check it out quickly, ha.

My Nan was born in in the 20s and used to call people 'squares' all the time, actually!
Tootles
Badges: 21
Rep:
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by gjd800)
The precise etymology of 'pilot episode' is debated, but the likely source is from the adjectival form of pilot used in the following way (circa 1890s):

That serves as a prototype or trial prior to a full-scale operation or activity; experimental, initial.
It's "pilot episode" as in "pilot light". A show's pilot was originally not aired, but screened privately to a studio's executives to get their gea or nay.
gjd800
Rep:
Report 2 years ago