Fear and Loathing in America: a Sophomore's Struggles Watch

aurochs
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago

no pretty banner here, unfortunately :~(

A Small Introduction:
Welcome to my 2018-2019 GYG, though I'm starting pretty late. I'm a sophomore (year 11 in the UK?; grade 10 in the US) living in California, trying my best to keep my grades alive. A long, long time ago, I told myself that my New Year's Resolutions were to a) stop procrastinating and b) do better in school, but that's definitely easier said than done, and so far, things aren't looking that great. This GYG is me, trying, perhaps futilely, to straighten my life out and to prevent burnout. So let's get into it!

My Classes:
The American system is obviously very different from the UK one, but here are the classes I took/am taking/will take, and the grades I got in them.

Spoiler:
Show

Freshman year:
- Honors Freshman English: A
- Honors Algebra II: A
- Honors Global Studies/Health: A
- Chemistry: A
- Physical Education: A
- French III: A

Sophomore year (this year!):
- AP Chemistry: A
What I hope to get: A. What I will probably get: A. Although the class has fairly difficult exams, the teacher's grading curve is very, very generous. It's easy to end with an A even if my raw exam average is a low B because of the curve and the test corrections.

- AP Biology: B+
What I hope to get: A. What I will probably get: low A? Biology has never been my strong suit, and that often times, I'll skip reading the chapters. Not a big surprise that I ended with a B (it was an 89 ;o) last semester, but I hope to do better this semester.

- AP Calculus BC: C+ (yikes)