The Student Room Group

Does hard work really pay off?

Last year I graduated from university and worked really, really hard during my studies.
I always received good grades during my time at uni and always worked - never took a break.
By this I mean, when I wasn't in the library studying I would be either working and getting back to my flat early hours of the morning or in my tutors offices helping them do their work for nothing.
During the holidays, I never got that summer and went abroad like everyone else did, I worked at least 2 jobs so that I could pay my way when university was over.

However, when I graduated I struggled to find employment for a while and ended up having to move in with my Dad as I had no job, car or money despite my hard work at uni. Then a few months later I landed a FTC at a marketing company in our local town. Needless to say I worked hard again, stayed late when needed to and even did more than some people in my department who were on much better money than me.
Next thing I know, they tell me I have not passed my probation period due to 'not being a right fit' and a couple of spelling mistakes in emails.
To me this is a very little error and as for 'not fitting in' I was very sociable with my colleagues and went out with them regularly to lunch/the pub, etc.

Now I'm unemployed again and still can't drive, despite trying for two years now (struggling with the theory test.)
It is such a kick in the teeth to have worked hard at both my university and my post-graduate job, then to get nothing out of it!? All I can say about myself is I'm unemployed, can't drive, live at home and still a virgin.
Yet people I attended higher education with (who worked no harder than me) moved to London after graduating, got great jobs in the industry we studied and are receiving promotions.