Very Depressed on Year Abroad Watch

Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
Hi everyone,

I’m halfway through my year abroad & I feel awful. I went to the Netherlands for 6 months & while I liked the country I for some reason had many panic attacks, resulting in being admitted in and out of hospital. I’m an older student, I’ve lived abroad before, this should be easy. However, I’ve had bad anxiety & depression this year that isn’t improving. My guess is that it’s because I feel a lot of pressure to do well and I’m feeling my age a bit, not only that but recently some family members passed away and that’s taking a toll on me - I’d rather be with my family this year but I can’t.

I’m now in Spain for my second placement and it’s beautiful, the people are nice etc but I cannot clear up my depression. My Spanish isn’t great, the university I’m placed with doesn’t ever respond and neither does my home university. I have no idea how to access mental health services here & I am on the verge of giving up. Can anyone recommend some activities to do / advice on mental health in Spain? I’m in Andalucia, if that helps.
DrSocSciences
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
Well done for holding on in the fog sufficiently to want to seek help. As it’s your 3rd year, is there any member of staff at your uni back at home with whom you feel you can connect? I’d write a short but frank email, making it clear that you really need some support, rather than skirting around the issue. Is any of your work assessed this year? Don’t give yourself too many challenges at once, as it can be overwhelming. Celebrate small wins: like getting up and dressed, or going out to the supermarket and talking to the cashier. Years out can be a long haul; mine was split between France and Spain, and those experiences were drastically different. Just do what you can to get through, so that you can resume your usual routine for that final push next year.
Last edited by DrSocSciences; 2 weeks ago
Mouarf