Is using Roaccutane a good idea? Watch

confuzzled786
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 9 months ago
So I’ve been given Roaccutane capsules as I’ve got awful skin. It’s so oily I have really bad acne as well but I’m just so scared about the side effects 😫.If you have used it please tell me about your experience with it and if it’s worth it.
turquoise_badger
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 9 months ago
(Original post by confuzzled786)
So I’ve been given Roaccutane capsules as I’ve got awful skin. It’s so oily I have really bad acne as well but I’m just so scared about the side effects 😫.If you have used it please tell me about your experience with it and if it’s worth it.
I've been using Roaccutane for about 2 years, and I can confirm that the benefits outweigh any problems considerably. My skin, whilst not totally acne-free is tons better than it was 1-2 years ago. A friend's acne disappeared completely.

The main problem is the dry skin. Use lots and lots of moisturiser, or you'll look like a flaky snowman every day. If you have a high dosage (above 20mg a day) you might also need eyedrops as well.

There is a small chance of some adverse hormonal effects. I had to have regular blood checks to make sure the meds weren't ****ing up my liver, which they weren't. Also, I was depressed for a small period in the middle of the process, which was partly attributed to the meds (but I was going through a lot of other *****y stuff at the time like GCSE) but as soon as the doctor reduced the dosage I was fine again.

All in all, I would say roaccutane is definitely worth it. 8/10.
confuzzled786
Rep:
?
(Original post by turquoise_badger)
I've been using Roaccutane for about 2 years, and I can confirm that the benefits outweigh any problems considerably. My skin, whilst not totally acne-free is tons better than it was 1-2 years ago. A friend's acne disappeared completely.