Completing a PGCE in a subject a bit different from my degree? Watch

Kirstyldriver
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
Hi,

I'm in my third year studying BA Fine Art. I only really went to university because I wanted to be a teacher, and having an undergrad degree is the only way I know to do this. Anyway so I have had to work through my degree which has hindered how well I've done. But now looking at applying for a PGCE, and initially I was looking to do Art and Design for Secondary but the funding for this is just loans (which is okay, but I would still have to work alongside). I know how impossible it is doing a PGCE to do this.

Obviously I am going to work full time in the summer to save a bit, but I would rather start a PGCE in September than take a year out.

Anyhow, so I was looking at funding a saw that Design and Technology for Secondary gets a £12,000 bursary on top of loans!! I do understand why, it is annoying because studying at I know the crossovers. This means though that I wouldn't need to work one bit, meaning I should do really well and I wouldn't need to worry about money.

My art practice is actually about the interface between art and design and I work in woodwork, metal work and use CAD ect. I also have a decent knowledge of graphic design. I am wondering if I could possibly do the PGCE in Design and Technology so I wouldn't need to work alongside. and once I have completed, if I found a Art and Design teaching job I would be let on? considering my degree? And also what would be the possibility of me being allowed to do a D&T PGCE? I want to stay at the same uni(BCU) to complete this and it is portfolio based.

do you think this is a sensible idea? or am I really just following the money ?
National Careers Service
  •  Official Rep
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
Hi Kirstyldriver

I'm hoping I can help you with this.