Can I get into uni with this?

Watch
OBaIMA
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi everyone

So I’m looking to apply for uni in 2020 to study computer science. I am a mature student (26) and have been out of education since 2011.

I was hoping to study an access to HE course 2019-20 but I live in quite a rural area and the only local courses I can find that are even remotely relevant are Applied Science and Forensic Science. No computer science option.

There is however a course (Certificate of HE) on Open University that is Computer & IT and Mathematics. I think this would put me in a better position to study an undergraduate degree in computer science but I’m unsure if any universities will accept this as my “only” qualification.

I have sent an email to the admissions team of most of the uni’s that I’m looking to attend, however, I was wondering if anyone has undertaken a certificate of HE course and what your experience was when applying to a brick university after completing any OU course?

I’m sure the access course is the best route but I would much rather be studying modules relevant to maths and computing than only a few interesting physics modules and maybe one module of computer science in the access course.
OBaIMA
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Anybody got any advice on certificates of HE at all?
CooperJen
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Really it’s only the admissions team at the universities you want to attend that can tell you what access course would award you a certificate that could get you into university. I’d just email a few with details of which access courses are available to you.
jburnside615
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by OBaIMA)
Hi everyone

So I’m looking to apply for uni in 2020 to study computer science. I am a mature student (26) and have been out of education since 2011.