How does the new A level maths compare with the old spec? Watch

Bertybassett
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hello, I am currently in 2nd year of A levels and I have been doing some old spec edexcel papers. They seem ok (I usually only drop a couple of marks), but I was wondering how the difficulty would compare to the new spec. I can't seem to find any new spec a level edexcel maths papers. I understand that in terms of content it's different, but in regards to difficulty and the ways in which the questions are asked, how does it differ? my teacher hasn't really gone through any of this stuff. I am aiming for an A*. Many thanks
Sir Cumference
  • Study Helper
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Bertybassett)
Hello, I am currently in 2nd year of A levels and I have been doing some old spec edexcel papers. They seem ok (I usually only drop a couple of marks), but I was wondering how the difficulty would compare to the new spec. I can't seem to find any new spec a level edexcel maths papers. I understand that in terms of content it's different, but in regards to difficulty and the ways in which the questions are asked, how does it differ? my teacher hasn't really gone through any of this stuff. I am aiming for an A*. Many thanks
It’s important that you try new spec papers since they’re harder and there are a lot more problem solving / modelling questions. Also the modular S1/S2 aren’t good preparing at all for new spec statistics. If you’re doing old Edexcel papers then I recommend doing IAL papers because they’re harder.

This article may help:

https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/a-l...maths-new-spec
Bertybassett
Rep:
?
(Original post by Notnek)