Poll: LSE vs Sciences Po / University of Toronto
LSE MSc International Political Economy (1 yr) (9)
69.23%
Dual Degree - Sciences Po / University of Toronto (4)
30.77%
EvanF1
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi!

I'm trying to decide between
1. LSE MSc International Political Economy (1 yr)
2. Dual Degree with Sciences Po (International Economic Policy - 1 yr) and the University of Toronto (Global Affairs - 1 yr) (2yrs total)

My background is in Investment Banking in Canada. Interested in moving towards a career at the OECD, World Bank, UN etc.

Although LSE ranks higher than Sciences Po in most areas I'm concerned that I won't be as competitive without having an internship during my degree. Also not sure if I should have a 2 year masters given that my background is in Investment Banking not policy or global affairs.

Hoping for some help!

Cheers
riupps
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Hey,

I'm a Canadian doing the MSc in IPE at LSE right now. Did my undergrad in a similar subject to this degree back in Canada and came here straight afterwords, so a little bit different than your background.

I can say though that this program has felt extremely theoretical and hasn't be very intellectually stimulating (it's been pretty much a consensus amongst people i talk to that it's light work and kind of easy). We have students here who are doing a dual degree with Sciences Po and they felt that the program there was more rigorous and more practical (which might be useful if you want to work in an IO).

I also have a friend at the Munk school at U of T doing the MGA there and it seems more hands on than this IPE degree as well. With that being said all of this is obviously anecdotal and I do think the LSE name could help when you're applying to the organizations you mentionned. I also think if you don't have an academic background in IPE or something similar you could potentially learn a lot from the program.