Mature student applying to SOAS Watch

Worth73
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 months ago
I am a mature student currently studying an Access to HE Humanities diploma, I have applied for a place on the BA African Studies degree programme and have 6 credits at Merit so far. I am starting to gain Distinctions now and I am planning to carry on doing so.
Does anybody know if, being a mature student, SOAS ever lower the grade criteria for mature students doing this degree?
LeapingLucy
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
Surely most people studying Access to HE courses are mature students?

SOAS will have set the requirement at 30 distinctions for a reason - I can't see why they'd lower it for you just because you're a mature student, when the vast majority of Access applicants will also be mature students.

If you get an offer, and then miss it by one or two credits, they may well choose to be flexible and let you in anyway, but there's no guarantee.
basil24
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
Hello it's my first time posting here so please bear with me. I am mature student studying Ba International Relations at SOAS. Similar to you I got accepted through an Access to HE Humanities Diploma. Although SOAS stated the requirement was 30 credits at distinction, I was accepted with less. As long as you make a strong application and demonstrate you are engaged in the field you want to study they will look favourably on your application. It has been tough balancing family responsibility, work and studies but it has been an enjoyable experience. Many of my fellow students and staff are friendly and approachable.
mollyxoo
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
(Original post by basil24)