Feeling lonely in third year Watch

lily312
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I am a third year history student at Exeter, and I have found this year to be one of the most difficult of my life. I basically feel incredibly lonely, and I cannot wait to leave here - which makes me feel like an utter failure and that I have wasted my years at university which are supposed to be some of the best of your life.

In first year, I had two close friends who I lived with and on my course but at Christmas they both decided to drop out. By then I felt like everyone had made friendship groups, and so I pretty much just hung out with people in my flat which was okay. Then in second year, I tried to join societies etc., but became really ill a couple of months in (I have a long term illness) and pretty much had to become a recluse. I very nearly had to drop out because of how unwell I got.

It is now my final year, I live with people from my first year flat and we get on, but they have their own friendship groups who they hang out with and go out with. I'd feel stupid trying to tag along with them now. I feel really alone, and like a total failure. I am absolutely dreading graduation as my family will come along to see that I have nobody to talk too...

Sorry for the long, depressing question. This is not like me at all, I am usually a happy, fun person and at home I am used to having a large group of friends. Am I the only one who feels like this? Are there any other Exeter students who want to talk?
ah317
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
I had a similar experience in my first year at Oxford. It was going from a big group of friends to like practically living in the library. I just tried keeping close with friends back at home and focused on getting through the degree really. I guess it can happen in life!
harrysbar
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by lily312)