Studied psychology? Is there content about dopamine and serotonin in the degree?

Watch
geniusiq139
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I want to apply to study psychology at University for 2020 entrance. I am really interested in concepts relating to neurotransmitters such as dopamine and serotonin, and the effect of those on mood, functioning and mental health.

I want to know if this is a topic covered on a psychology degree. If so, to what depth is it covered? Is there a lot on it? Or is it a brief section of the degree.

I know each University has different content. But if you could just mention which Uni you studied at, and what the content was like on that course.
username2657095
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I’m currently in my first year studying psychology at Loughborough. In the first semester, I selected an optional neuroscience module, so there was a lecture in that which covered six major neurotransmitters.

I’m doing the compulsory biological psychology module this semester, which I gather will also have some content on neurotransmitters. It’s quite brief, and not covered in a whole lot of detail but it’ll definitely come up over different points in the course.
PurpleHills
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I'm 4th yr at Leeds uni. Neutotransmitters are covered throughout my degree, I.e. in Biological psychology, behavioural neuroscience and some social psychology lectures, as well as selected modules like the bio psych of appetite.
marinade
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by geniusiq139)
I want to apply to study psychology at University for 2020 entrance. I am really interested in concepts relating to neurotransmitters such as dopamine and serotonin, and the effect of those on mood, functioning and mental health.

I want to know if this is a topic covered on a psychology degree. If so, to what depth is it covered? Is there a lot on it? Or is it a brief section of the degree.