Report Thread starter 7 months ago
Hi guys, I'm a year 10 student who takes:
Triple Science (Edexcel)
History (Edexcel)
French (AQA)
Maths (AQA)
English Literature (AQA)
English Language(AQA)

I have mock exams in April, in which I'm keen to perform well. The student room has a whirlpool of highly academic students who have achieved well in exams, so I'm looking for any tips/advice that would help me to do my absolute best in these exams.

I plan to start revising this week; using active recall and spaced repetition to ensure that I know my content. I plan to use exam style questions, particularly from physicsandmathstutor.com to develop my exam technique for the sciences and maths, in which I want 8s and 9s. For history, I will practice planning out exam questions; similar to English Literature and Language. For French, I plan create flashcards to learn key, higher level vocab. I would appreciate more advice and secret tips; enlighten me!

Thank you.
Wonyo
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 7 months ago
Hi, this is from a Year 11, who did mocks in December (with about 3 weeks notice to revise for them D.

I’m not sure how your exam timetable is spread out, but for some context I ended up have 2 or 3 exams a day across a whole week. In some sense, it was chaotic, because I neglected revision until the week before! I managed to get five 9s in English Lang and Lit, Chemistry, Spanish speaking and History, which I’m happy about!

What I would recommend is don’t overdo things, it’ll tire you out. In the run up to them, make sure you do a little a day and when it comes closer try to revise topics in details.

For French, are you doing the whole set, as in speaking/listening/reading/writing? If so, definitely try to do practice exams on listening and see how you do. If you note down the vocab you missed it will help. I do Spanish, and I got a 9 in the speaking!