The Student Room Group

What should I do to increase my chances of getting a job right after graduation?

So I’m a first year Computer Science student and I’ve finished the first semester. So far I’ve done okay in my exams and course works (60%-75%). I’ve been enjoying programming and computer systems modules so far. As a student, I know that doing internships would be very helpful as I’ll gain experience but I was wondering if there’s anything else I could do apart from doing well + internships to increase the chances of getting a job as soon as I graduate?
The internships will help a lot - particularly if you're planning on taking a 12-month placement after the 2nd year - having that experience under your belt by the time you graduate is likely to help you stand out in graduate job interviews.

One thing you could do in your spare time (maybe over the summer if you don't have time now) would be to work on a personal project which you can use to work on your skills and go a bit further than the programming modules you've done so far (e.g. maybe a web app, game, arduino project, mobile app, desktop app, etc.)

Another great way to get some experience could be to take some time to get involved in an Open Source project: https://www.firsttimersonly.com/

Maybe look out for some local tech meet-up groups in your area to see whether there's anything that interests you - https://www.meetup.com/find/tech/
Sometimes these can be great for finding out about interesting events (e.g. hackathons) and tech talks with guest speakers and industry experts, or even just for doing some social networking with other tech people in your local area.

Problem solving skills are really important too - challenging yourself to solve problems like these is a really good way to exercise brain matter - the more you practice, the better you'll be:
- https://projecteuler.net/archives
- http://www.codeabbey.com/index/task_list
- https://leetcode.com/problemset/all/