Chemical Engineering Interview Watch

Raining in TOKYO
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
I have an interview at the University of Manchester for Chem eng next week and have absolutely no idea what to prepare for it apart from the general questions (e.g why you want to study here?).

Does anyone have any experience with engineering interviews at non-oxbridge universities and is willing to lend a few tips?

Thanks.
modifiedgenes
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by barerbbiabb)
I have an interview at the University of Manchester for Chem eng next week and have absolutely no idea what to prepare for it apart from the general questions (e.g why you want to study here?).

Does anyone have any experience with engineering interviews at non-oxbridge universities and is willing to lend a few tips?

Thanks.
I am not an engineer of any kind.

I would strongly recommend you start reading from websites that feature chemical engineering. What the current challenges in the industry (the environmental impact of the chemistry industry, for example) and what future areas of research you think will be important (battery technology for electric cars- will lithium ion be the only solution or will others appear?).
Doones
  • Section Leader
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago

Thanks.
It's more of a chance for them to check you are actually interested in the course, and more importantly, to persuade you to firm them.

Nearly everyone interviewed gets an offer.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Raining in TOKYO
Rep:
?
(Original post by Doonesbury)
It's more of a chance for them to check you are actually interested in the course, and more importantly, to persuade you to firm them.

Nearly everyone interviewed gets an offer.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Do you think it's worth me planning out answers to general questions or not? Because I don't want to be in a situation where I don't know how to answer a question or I say the wrong thing due to panicking.