The Student Room Group

Help - Thinking of Dropping Out

I guess I should give some background. I didn't get an undergraduate degree - I went straight into veterinary school. I've never wanted to do anything else but be a vet.

I'm in my first year and having a horrific time. I'm by no means failing, but certainly not getting stellar grades. I study harder, longer, and more methodically than any of my friends and consistently score considerately lower than them on exams. My brain is not built for memorizing bacteria, parasites, viruses, etc. I'll learn anatomy and suturing and radiographs all day long. I can NOT learn infectious agents or parasitology to save my life.

I can truly say, I've never been more unhappy in my life. Not a single day of veterinary school brings happiness to me. Not one. This isn't what I thought it would be. Do I just truck through it for four more years and hope I don't die from the stress and depression? Do I drop out and become a firefighter? I don't know what to do. Does it ever get better?
Reply 1
Talk to your tutor! It may be that there is a lot of the stuff you find difficult in the first year and you can choose options you enjoy later, or it could get worse.

Some people who used to be at the top of their classes find it difficult when they get to competitive courses at uni and ALL the people on the course were among the brighteat in their year. Being average within a very able cohort is more than OK!
I certainly have moments of feeling exactly like you do, and I think almost every vet student doubts themselves at some point and certainly makes comparisons to others. What matters is you are reaching passing grades. Certainly my first year way of revising was shocking and I am really having to change that to ensure I can continue to pass - 3rd year for us is basically solid pathology.

Definitely reach out to a tutor but don't compare there is just no need. If you pass you are equal to every other person in the year that also passed.