Why do so many people hate Chinese International students in uni? Watch

chessyfish
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Well, okay, the word "hate" is bit over the top. But seriously, as a Chinese international student myself, the struggle is real here - it's extremely difficult to make (non-Chinese) friends; and even just people who are handing out leaflets on campus (from society or whatever,) they would give those leaflets to everyone else but people who has an east-Asian face.

Do things like this only happen in my uni? If you never integrate with Chinese International students, can you tell me why?
ageshallnot
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by chessyfish)
Well, okay, the word "hate" is bit over the top. But seriously, as a Chinese international student myself, the struggle is real here - it's extremely difficult to make (non-Chinese) friends; and even just people who are handing out leaflets on campus (from society or whatever,) they would give those leaflets to everyone else but people who has an east-Asian face.

Do things like this only happen in my uni? If you never integrate with Chinese International students, can you tell me why?
Then don't use it.
Last edited by ageshallnot; 1 year ago
Idg a damn
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I am Chinese myself and I think the scorn seems to stem from groundless stereotypes that us Chinese are uncouth babarians who would **** in the elevator, steal stuff, cut the line etc.

Like really? How is this even related to people like me anyhow? I am a Malaysian Chinese, not someone who's without manners and etiquette!
Last edited by Idg a damn; 1 year ago
StriderHort
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Yea, the term 'hate' is over the top and unhelpful.