Turn on thread page Beta

A-Levels? watch

Announcements

I dropped out of college during my a-levels and now work in a pretty decent job (I work with
    computers so experience counts at this stage more than quals). I know at some point not having
    A-Levels/Degree might adversly effect my chances of a better job, so I want to do my a-levels before
    my brain is completely out of "study mode".

Now that they are split into AS and A levels, would I have to do an AS first then a A? Anyone know
    if the OU does a-levels by home study? If not, where can I do a-levels at home? I'm quite used to
    working on my own. I'm studying for computing qualifications, and I did a couple GCSEs by home
    study too..

dave

[q1]> Now that they are split into AS and A levels, would I have to do an AS[/q1]
    first
    [q1]> then a A? Anyone know if the OU does a-levels by home study? If not,[/q1]
    where
    [q1]> can I do a-levels at home? I'm quite used to working on my own. I'm studying for computing[/q1]
    [q1]> qualifications, and I did a couple GCSEs by home study too..[/q1]
    [q1]>[/q1]
    [q1]> dave[/q1]
    [q1]>[/q1]
    You can do AS/A2 levels at home if you can get an exam center to take you. The problem is with
    course work which has to be authenticated. Phone the relevant exam board and talk to them about it -
    they are very helpful. An easier way is to ask if a local school etc will take you for the exam and
    the course work. My son did this for Chemistry (didn't go to lessons but did go to practicals) but
    did electronics 100% on his own including course work. mikej

You can totally do this, but I wouldn't go through the OU for A-Levels. Simply go to the this page:

http://www-icdl.open.ac.uk/courses_l...&qual_type=A/A
    2/AS%20Level

And you will find a list of all the A-Levels you can study by distance learning in the UK. Listed
    Alphabetically by subject, and then within that by institution.