The Student Room Group

Is my application competitive for medicine undergrad?

Hi!
I'm an International Student currently taking the International GCSEs (CIE) and I took 6 subjects in total;

1. English as First Language: A*
2. Mathematics: A*
3. French as a Foreign Language: A*
4. Physics: A*
5. Chemistry: A*
6. Biology: A*

It is later that I realised I've taken very little subjects, the general number being 8-9. Moreover, due to my limited IGCSEs, I have only taken 3 AS Subjects (Biology, Chemistry and Physics) as opposed to the general 4. I will of course continue all the three to the A2 level, where I am hoping for A*A*A*.

As for extracurriculars, I've been on the student council for the past 3-4 years and apart from that, I love playing football. I'm also doing my Silver DofE Award, and of course plan to have some work experience along with voluntary work.

I'm worried my application isn't competitive enough, considering my low number of IGCSEs and only 3 subjects at AS and A Level. What do you think? Should I take another subject, perhaps do an EPQ? Should I focus more on some extra curriculars?

Also; how do you think I can show that I go beyond the curriculum and actually have a passion for medicine - an EPQ seems like a lot of work. I could perhaps read some books, but will that be strong enough to show that I have read and explored the vocation?

Ahh I'm sorry, I know this is too long, thanks for reading. It's just that I'm worried my application won't look good enough. What extra things could I do to enhance my application, apart from an EPQ perhaps?
(edited 5 years ago)
You only need 3 subjects at AS/A level
Reading books can be useful
I'd get some good voluntary experience and some work experience and make up for what you lack for in GCSE's with a good UKCAT score so you could apply to less GCSE heavy unis
Reply 2
Original post by AzureCeleste
You only need 3 subjects at AS/A level
Reading books can be useful