leonamay1
Badges: 11
Report Thread starter 7 months ago
Hi,

I'm not looking for help as such, just someone in a similar situation to me.

I am currently studying a BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma in Electrical/Electronic Engineering. When I started this course, I was made aware this is equivalent to 3 A-Levels (I have checked UCAS points, and it is).

I have applied to 5 universities to study a BEng Electronic Engineering, and am looking at degree apprenticeships. One uni gave me an unconditional (yay), but 3 others are trying to turn me down or refer me to foundation year since I wasn't doing a Maths A-Level.

I have now found a centre near me where I can take the AQA Further Maths A-Level (only exam dates I can sit), and am waiting to hear from unis again.

I find it a bit unfair, since they accept A-Level students that are only taking 3, but I am now taking the equivalent of 4 just to be accepted like the others.

Has anyone else has this issue? Having the right BTEC but still needing an A-Level to be accepted?

Thanks for reading.
Molseh
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 7 months ago
Generally the better ranked the school the less keen they are on BTECs. I guess that is due to the content of them but I am not sure, as to whether that is right of them or not who am I to say. Did you check the Entry requirements before applying?
Hope you manage to sort it out!
swanseajack1
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 7 months ago
Maths A level is usually required for engineering courses whether you take A levels or Btecs and this is usually stated on their entry requirements which you should have read before applying. It isnt unfair. If someone took A levels in say Chemistry, Physics and Biology they would be treated in the same way. Universities believe the BTEC doesnt have enough Maths in them to help you complete the course hence the offer for the foundation course to bring your Maths to the required standard.
leonamay1
(Original post by swanseajack1)