The Student Room Group

Final Semester - I want to do this but I feel I can't.

Hey everyone, this is not the first time I have posted this sort of question and so far I'll give my backstory. I'm currently a final year computer science student who is almost done his degree. I worked in the industry so I'm already at this university for 4 years. I started with my final year with optimism and being nervous since this year counts for a lot.

During my first semester, I had issues with the workload, personal issues, problems at work and generally wasn't in the best place. My supervisor, director of study, and the subject director all agreed I should go to counselling. I did. It didn't help except with them advising me to take a year out. I kept pushing through first semester and got very good marks but with everything happening I never had a chance to take a break. So I spent my entire Christmas working and this attitude has kept up till now. Recently I've been struggling more and more with the workload, and for some reason, I'm always on edge and crying a lot. I don't understand why that might be the case as I never stop working and therefore should not be behind, but I feel I am. My grades, however, are starting to suffer compared to the first semester, and I'm terrified of what mark I could get for my final year project.

I'm stuck in this place where I'm unsure what to do, and I don't know who to talk to. I'm tired of the constant crying, this underlining fear that always seems to be present and I just want it gone. What can I do?
Reply 1
In today's day and age we have everything handed to us to the point where people feel as if it's a chore with what we do, myself included. We often forget billions of people are not as fortunate as us but unfortunately since everything is spoon-fed we fail to feel the true meaning of responsibility.