I'm not friends with the people I'm living with next year

Watch
skitso
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I'm currently in 1st year, and if I'm honest I've not had the best time at uni so far. My halls is full of the same kind of people who I just find a bit dull, and I'm only really friends with 1 person from my flat. I didn't consider moving halls in the first few months as I just assumed things would get easier and I would make good friendships with people in my halls, but as time passed nothing changed.

Around November, people started rushing around trying to sort out houses for 2nd year and I ended up panicking and agreeing to live with 5 people from my halls (I had tried to arrange living with other people I had met but they had already sorted their groups out before I had the chance). It's now March and I barely hang out with these 5 people and I'm becoming better friends with other people outside of halls. I even tried moving into another friends flat in semester 2 but study abroad students were already assigned to their flat

I feel like I'm missing out on the uni experience because I'm not living with my friends now and I won't be in 2nd year. This thought is making me quite upset as I used to be so excited about coming to university, especially having a student house with good friends, but now I feel like 1st year and 2nd year have been written off just like that. I'm still hopeful for finding a good group of friends to live with in 3rd year, but that seems so late to start having fun at uni. Obviously I can still meet up with friends for nights out and things but I get so bored and lonely during the days and i hate the thought of this continuing throughout 2nd year.

Anyone else have a similar experience? This situation is making me kind of lonely and I really feel like I'm missing out on a lot.
The Empire Odyssey
  • Study Helper
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by skitso)