Should I do an MSc to get a funded-PhD? Watch

Chrismed
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
Hiya!

So. I am an EU graduate (chemistry) and I am interested in starting a PhD. I have already got a postgraduate diploma (also from an EU institution).

I had applied for a couple of Phds and got accepted as the best canditate by the suoervisors as BUT did not get the funding after the final interview. They all said ''we are happy with you starting the project but the university has not got the resources so we encourage self-funding''.

I am thinking of doing an MSc so that I can introduce myself to the academia here in the UK and be relevent (!). It has put me off so much, you guys. I have publications in peer reviewed journals and still I cannot get a funding. Yes, I know I might not be good in the interview (the council interview that gives the funding) but still I got accepted by every uni I applied for.

Any advice? Is there anyone that went through that route? Will I have better chances if I do an MSc to get the funding for a PhD?
alleycat393
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by Chrismed)
Hiya!

So. I am an EU graduate (chemistry) and I am interested in starting a PhD. I have already got a postgraduate diploma (also from an EU institution).

I had applied for a couple of Phds and got accepted as the best canditate by the suoervisors as BUT did not get the funding after the final interview. They all said ''we are happy with you starting the project but the university has not got the resources so we encourage self-funding''.

I am thinking of doing an MSc so that I can introduce myself to the academia here in the UK and be relevent (!). It has put me off so much, you guys. I have publications in peer reviewed journals and still I cannot get a funding. Yes, I know I might not be good in the interview (the council interview that gives the funding) but still I got accepted by every uni I applied for.