A100 Medicine - University of Sheffield or University of Birmingham? Watch

ryxb98
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
Hi everyone, I recently received offers from both Sheffield and Brum.

I'm an international student starting in September 2019.

I know most of what the programme is gonna be like at both schools. Personally, I prefer Sheffield's. The accommodation seems better, and I've heard about the nightlife etc as well.. but I've never visited Sheffield.

I interviewed for Brum in Brum so I've gotten to see a bit of the city. Seems like in a few years there's gonna be a lot of new infrastructure.

It's hard to decide which offer to accept since I only know so much about Sheffield. Do you have any advice?
EvanH
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
I'm in the exact same position as you with choosing between Sheffield and Birmingham but i live close to Sheffield so know more about there than Birmingham.

The nightlife is really good in Sheffield and there's lots of different options to choose. There are many different places to eat too, both in the city and at Meadowhall, which is a tram away. You've also got Sheffield arena and the O2 which are the main music venues.

Basically Sheffield as a city has so much to offer and there's always something to do.

I do prefer the look of Birmingham as a univeristy though and would say their accommodation, at least for first year, looks better, but that is obviously just a matter of opinion
ryxb98
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Hey!

I was looking at the new accommodation at Sheffield and Allen Court seems really nice. I've seen videos on Ranmoor/Endcliffe and it looks new too (?) but I'm not so sure. Unite Students looks good too. Birmingham's accommodation looks amazing tho. I wanna stay by the lake too So I guess either way I'll have good accommodation.