DukeOfEndor
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
So I'm currently a first year history student at the University of Sheffield and am finding the workload way to much.
For the past 3 weeks and the next 3 weeks also I've had an essay of 1500/2000 a week. Is an essay a week normal for university and how much harder does it get in second and third year?

Thanks for any replies.
ageshallnot
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by DukeOfEndor)
So I'm currently a first year history student at the University of Sheffield and am finding the workload way to much.
For the past 3 weeks and the next 3 weeks also I've had an essay of 1500/2000 a week. Is an essay a week normal for university and how much harder does it get in second and third year?

Thanks for any replies.
It varies from uni to uni, course to course, and module to module. However, one essay a week isn't in any way excessive, imo.
harrysbar
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by DukeOfEndor)

Thanks for any replies.
My son is also a first year History student (at Exeter) and he is also struggling with the barrage of essays that the Uni are demanding this term. As I would say that Exeter and Sheffield are comparable, I'm guessing that the workload is not unusual for those sort of Unis. He found the course nice and gentle at first, but not now! As I remind him, it's only a few more weeks until Easter and then no more essays until the exams. When you're feeling fed up, try to comfort yourself with the long summer holiday coming up. Even if you're working for some of them, it's still a break from the essays
ageshallnot
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by harrysbar)