hayls9335
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Manchester Met or Leeds Trinity

My dilemma-
I’m studying forensic psychology. I live in Wakefield and these are the only 2 universities relatively near by that offer the course.

Background- Driver, mum to 2 under 3 years old, mature student (26) , will be living at home and commuting.

Leeds is the closest at 40 mins travel time
MMU is 1hr 15 mins

I feel like picking Leeds trinity just for the distance is ‘settling’ I really haven’t heard great things about the uni and my tutor on my access course says I’m lowering my prospects choosing Leeds trinity (currently have distinctions throughout)

Leeds pros:
Closer
Offers placement
Parking available
Leeds cons:
Not exactly reputable
Poor reviews

MMU pros:
Offers masters in forensic psych
Reputable course and recognised
MMU cons:
Distance (what happens if I’m called by childcare to pick up an ill child?)
Fuel consumption - can I afford to travel? Eventually train fares/ petrol will rack up. Plus parking fees
Doesn’t offer placement

I will HAVE to choose MMU for my masters so should I bite the bullet and study it all there?

I genuinely don’t know what to do and time is running out fast.

Can anyone offer any advice?

Thankyou
Last edited by hayls9335; 2 years ago
LuigiMario
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by hayls9335)
Manchester Met or Leeds Trinity

My dilemma-
I’m studying forensic psychology. I live in Wakefield and these are the only 2 universities relatively near by that offer the course.
Background- Driver, mum to 2 under 3 years old, mature student (26) , will be living at home and commuting.
Leeds is the closest at 40 mins travel time
MMU is 1hr 15 mins
Can anyone offer any advice?
Thankyou