The Student Room Group

Guys what does this mean

I’m kinda new to English and I’m finding it to understand this statement. Can someone tell me simply what it means in simple English.

“it will not relieve the person who inflicted the wound from the guilt of homicide that that best medical skill or care had not been got."

Your help is much appreciated!!!

Thank you X
Guys I’m kinda new to English and I don’t understood what this mean

“it will not relieve the person who inflicted the wound from the guilt of homicide that that best medical skill or care had not been got."

Can someone tell what this mean?

Thanks
Your help is appreciated
I'm not sure. The sentence structure is confusing.

Maybe it means that, if one person wounds another in a way that could have been nonfatal if treated properly, but it isn't treated properly and the person dies, the first person is still guilty of homicide? Does that make sense in context?
Original post by anosmianAcrimony
I'm not sure. The sentence structure is confusing.

Maybe it means that, if one person wounds another in a way that could have been nonfatal if treated properly, but it isn't treated properly and the person dies, the first person is still guilty of homicide? Does that make sense in context?

Thank u for taking ur time! Means a lot but I still cannot understand this. This is the whole passage. Please help me again if u can x

“On the other hand, if a man inflicts an injury which if left to itself will result in death, or of which death is the probable result - which is calculated to lead to death, though it may be capable of cure by the best attention of the best medical skill - then though the man might have recovered if he had had these, it will not relieve the person who inflicted the wound from the guilt of homicide that that best medical skill or care had not been got."
I'm an English native, and I'm having a little trouble understanding that.