Stuck in a bad university Watch

AnononA8
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Title speaks for itself.I'm currently studying at Robert Gordon University in Aberdeen and as far as I can tell, it's pretty horrible - I don't see myself having a decent future out of this placeI'm in my second year: is it possible to fix this, and possibly transfer to a better university, before it's too late?
megsalice_
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
Maybe you could drop out and reapply through clearing for 2019/20 entry if it’s that bad?
Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play
MinaBee
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
What are you studying? Transferring to a different university for 3rd year is very uncommon so I think you'd probably have to start again unless you can find a university that's willing to let you do that.
Themysticalegg
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
You could potentially transfer to another university, however you might end up in year one again. I have seen a few from my University drop out after one year to transfer to RG universities. You could also do a Masters at somewhere else after graduation.
AnononA8
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
I'm studying Law and Management
Unfortunately I don't think going back to year one would be a good solution, I was hoping that I could move into another university from year two instead.
Would any Masters applications be compromised if I were to graduate at my current university, as opposed to a better one?
Duncan2012
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
Why did you apply there in the first place, and why did you wait until you were halfway through second year before looking to do anything about it?

Stick it out. It's not top tier, but it's certainly not 'bad'. Create your own opportunities. Get work experience that will help once you've graduated.

You can check out entry requirements for masters courses online.

FWIW I got my MBA from RGU.
Themysticalegg
Badges: 17
Rep:
?