Am I in the right to take a day off work? Watch

rossjameslx567
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
So I do vol work as a Librarian, my jobs to mainly shelve books, deal with customers enquiries, go through lists and take books out that need to go to other libraries that people have orded etc and just general maintenance. (I'm always on my feet and the job entails constant walking)

However, I've got a sprained ankle, I've been working with it but my ankle just isn't getting any better by doing that. I can physically work if I force myself to but I want to be losing weight, I can't go for my runs etc if my ankle is never getting any better.

Am I in the right to take a day or two off? I've worked there for over a month now and everything's going well, I've picked up fast, yesterday I was having a new vol shadow me and I spent the day showing him around and telling him what's what.

My fitness and losing weight comes before having the best reputation at working in a Library. I just feel my ankle won't get better if I'm having to work. Luckily after Friday the Library is closed for a week so that could be healing time for me, my nan is saying I should wait until then but I've already missed yes, five days of running due to my ankle. I just can't keep missing more days otherwise I may as well give up on losing weight because I want to be consistent and lose weight ASAP as I have goals to achieve.

If I take time off work as of now, the sooner I'll be able to run again. Two more days may not seem like much to the average person but to me it is. I want to get back out there, I'm already considering getting alcohol in and I keep on having to stop myself, it's all because I'm bored I need sports to do.

I feel I have the right to take today and tomorrow off and come back when the Library re-opens, what do you guys think? P.S, working less hours is not an option, I'm wanting to not work at all until my ankle heals. I want to rest it.
Duncan2012
Badges: 19
Rep: