English PGCE or English & Media PGCE??? Which on?? Watch

Candy369
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 days ago
Hi everyone, firstly sorry for the typo in the title, it won't allow me to change it!

So I've been considering doing my teacher training for a while and I also have considerable classroom experience under my belt. I have a BA and MA in Film and Media Studies, however, I'm at the stage of my life where I want a stable, reasonable job and so venturing into the media industry is simply not an option at this moment in time for me.

I know that gaining QTS (qualified teacher status) allows you to teach more or less anything, but despite this, I do want to apply my previous degrees to my future job, and so what I need help with is what is better for me to study, in the grand scheme of things:

1.) A PGCE in English or,
2.) a PGCE in English and Media?

I am relatively new to the ins and outs of teacher training, but I would like some more insight into,

a.) Am I a more flexible, employable teacher with a combined PGCE such as English and media?
b.) If I study English alone, will my BA and MA still carry weight if I go for specifically, media positions? (i.e. is it necessary to study a combined degree if I already have 2 degrees relating to the subject itself)?
c.) What else, bar the course and course provider, do I need to consider, in order to leave the course as prepared as I can for teaching, i.e. does the Uni's reputation really matter or...?

There are plenty of English PGCE courses, but not so many combined courses...I think I found maybe three and London Met was one of them, and from what I've heard, it's far from being the most reputable uni in the UK. I don't see myself utilising the flexibility of having QTS, but I do want to teach media or film in the long run, and potentially english overseas if that helps.