Biological Anthropology: Oxford Brookes or University of Kent? Watch

noobsoup
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Help me decide. I am a mature student from Belgium so I will be staying wherever I'm going to be studying throughout the weekends.

Where Oxford Brookes wins from University Of Kent:
-Oxford has a population of 150k which is perf imo, Canterbury's population of 50k is a little bit too small
-Lots of psychology/cognitive modules, UoKent has none

Where Kent wins from Oxford Brookes:
-I don't know how much this matters but Oxford Brookes has had very lefty chancellors, dunno about the current one
-Better rankings, bit more prestigious, better entry requirements (Brookes has meaningless english entry reqs imo (52/90 on PTE A), I got 75 on my PTE academic with 3 hours of sleep and 2 hours of practice and my English is far from perfect)

Oxford Brookes rankings have been increasing while UoKent rankings have been decreasing, but UoKent is still ranked above Oxford Brookes on all rankings. Any prospects on the future? Will Brookes keep on expanding and maybe even beat Kent in the future? Is there a lot of socialization between OU and OBU students?
Last edited by noobsoup; 1 week ago
StudentRep Annabel
  •  Official Rep
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
Hi there,
I'm a social media rep and third year student at the University of Kent. Congratulations on your offer to study at Kent!
Deciding between universities can be quite difficult especially if you don't have the chance to go and visit them on applicant days. If you are able to attend any applicant days I would highly recommend it as it gives you a really good sense of what life is like at the university. But obviously as you are in Belgium unfortunately this may not be an option.