Self funding a year of uni Watch

MealyTheDragon
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 days ago
So I am going to be self funding a year of my degree and I was wondering if anyone else has done this and if so how did you mange ? Do you have any advice ?

My situation in summary:
I studied 2&1/2years of my first degree however was suffering with anorexia during this time and had to drop out to attend hospital treatment. I am now going back to uni in September to a different uni & different course (psychology at Bangor), but due to my previous (miserable) attempt at university I only have 1 year of fee funding left. I have applied for compelling personal reasons for the year I had to leave my first course. So am hoping to have 2 years of fees loan.

So I am trying to raise £9000 to cover the 1st years fees. I currently have a full time job so think I can get some of the way towards this before I start, but then I worry about what money i'll have left for living costs.
I've been looking for grants, but haven't successfully found one yet. I will continue to work part time whilst at uni, but I am worrying about the effect this might have of on my studies and whether I will safe enough for fees and have money to live off.

Sorry for the ramble. If you're in a similar situation do you have a plan ?
999tigger
  • Answer Heroes
Badges: 19
Report 6 days ago
(Original post by MealyTheDragon)
So I am going to be self funding a year of my degree and I was wondering if anyone else has done this and if so how did you mange ? Do you have any advice ?

My situation in summary: