Considering returning to Uni 24?

Watch
Brandon44
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hey Guys,

I was wondering if anyone can help me make a decision or maybe share some wisdom that could unscramble my head in terms of returning to education.

I'm Currently 23 and have been considering going back to University to study for a while now. Initially I didn't go to university as I opted for the Apprenticeship route, upon realizing that a trade wasn't for me, I dropped out after 2 years. In the mean time I have been working part-time in retail feeling more and more unsatisfied, getting myself into a bigger rut. I am educated up to A-level, holding a double award at BC grade which I studied back at College.

I'd like to study History at a London University, so after researching some of the universities in London, I quite liked the look of Queen Mary. However requirements ask for ABB and a mandatory grade in History, which I unfortunately do not have. This throws quite a significant curve ball as I'd have to spend a year studying the A-level most likely online and achieve an A at least to stand a chance. I'm quite open to the idea of going back to achieve the History A-level as I'd like to make my experience worth it and beneficial but this would mean I wouldn't start 1st year until I'm 25 assuming I achieve an A.

Starting university at the mentioned age wouldn't mean obtaining my degree until a minimum of 28 which does seem quite old to me. This leads me to question whether I should apply to a Uni which doesn’t have such rigorous entry requirements such as Westminster or Greenwich. I guess I feel a bit apprehensive as my friends are all getting on with their lives/careers and I'd just be starting out at Uni.