Eleanorrrrrrrr
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi, I really hope someone can help me. I am studying law and criminology and one of my modules is sociology. I am currently doing an essay where I have to "Compare and contrast how different sorts of homes and housing can influence peoples lives and contribute to inequalities in the UK"

I am really stuck on this because I don't really know what to talk about nor where to start, please someone help!
LpoolLawStudent
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Eleanorrrrrrrr)
Hi, I really hope someone can help me. I am studying law and criminology and one of my modules is sociology. I am currently doing an essay where I have to "Compare and contrast how different sorts of homes and housing can influence peoples lives and contribute to inequalities in the UK"

I am really stuck on this because I don't really know what to talk about nor where to start, please someone help!
Have you found no journal articles on this? Because I'm sure there is literally thousands...
10yearslate
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
'Influence their lives' is broad af. You could talk about how class and housing affects education (cultural capital, material deprivation etc), Or crime, have a look on the .Gov website for statistics on arrests/stop and search. You should be able to get an idea of which areas have higher arrest rates and then you can discuss why (spoiler warning- poor areas and institutional racism). You could discuss working class sub-culture and how where people grow up can perpetuate it. Labelling theory and how it can affect certain groups based on their background (think people living in council estates being labelled as benefit cheats for example)

That's just a few ideas off the top of my head.

This website has some good fact sheets on social inequality and stratification: http://sociology.org.uk/n_inequality.htm

Good luck on your essay!
Last edited by 10yearslate; 1 year ago
Eleanorrrrrrrr