The interactionist approach. Watch

mini.me
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
Hi guys, i was wondering if anyone could help me, i'm currently studying the interactionist approach in schizophrenia and in there it says that the diathesis stress model is part of the interactionist approach. What is the relationship between the two? like is the interactionist approach an umbrella term that diathesis stress falls under? I understand why they're together.just not the relationship between them...
Acetyl
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
The model links external factors (environment) to predisposing psychology (and biological) factors which leads to the presentation of the symptoms etc.

For example, the individual is in a situation where family dysfunction is high and it is very stressful. This external factor triggers the predisposing psychological (and biological) factors which lead to the onset of the symptoms etc.

It can be argued that an individual with greater / more significant predisposing factors needs a weaker external factor to trigger the onset of the symptoms. Likewise, those with fewer / less significant predisposing factors need a far stronger external factor.

The image below outlines it well, the biological detail isn't needed for A-level (in this diagram):

Acetyl
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Removed, accidental double-post).
mini.me
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much, this was great! Are you doing a psychology degree?
(Original post by Acetyl)
The model links external factors (environment) to predisposing psychology (and biological) factors which leads to the presentation of the symptoms etc.

For example, the individual is in a situation where family dysfunction is high and it is very stressful. This external factor triggers the predisposing psychological (and biological) factors which lead to the onset of the symptoms etc.