The Student Room Group

Can I challenge a university's decision to reject me?

I am studying a Level 3 extended diploma in Aeronautical Engineering and I wish to carry on with Engineering at a higher level, at uni. However, I was really hoping to get an offer from Surrey but they require a maths A-Level on top therefore leading me to get rejected. A few of the other unis that I have applied for made me an offer regardless of the A-level even though its on their spec on their website, but not surrey. Does anyone reckon that it is worth ringing surrey up to speak with them about it or would it just be pointless?
Reply 1
What would you recommend?
Original post by cavant
I am studying a Level 3 extended diploma in Aeronautical Engineering and I wish to carry on with Engineering at a higher level, at uni. However, I was really hoping to get an offer from Surrey but they require a maths A-Level on top therefore leading me to get rejected. A few of the other unis that I have applied for made me an offer regardless of the A-level even though its on their spec on their website, but not surrey. Does anyone reckon that it is worth ringing surrey up to speak with them about it or would it just be pointless?

I think it would be pointless as Surrey have a good reason for rejecting you and it is logical enough that they want applicants to have A level maths since the course is so mathematical. I'm guessing that the other unis were less competitive than Surrey which is why they can't afford to be so fussy. All you can do is accept their decision and think about which of your other offers is the best one for you
Original post by cavant