The Student Room Group

Is there some sort of hidden structure for English???

How on earth am I meant to structure an English language or literature question??? What am I meant to include to get top grades? Cause the mark scheme is anything but easy to understand! I’m becoming more and more stressed. Does anyone have any truly “grade changing” advice??
I am currently in my second year of A Level literature and all I can say to you is make sure you’re hitting all the AOs and writing clearly- don’t write fancy for the sake of it but make good points and explain them to the best of you’re ability all with language techniques, a quote and context or whatever else you may need to add in.
Reply 2
Original post by MariannaL
I am currently in my second year of A Level literature and all I can say to you is make sure you’re hitting all the AOs and writing clearly- don’t write fancy for the sake of it but make good points and explain them to the best of you’re ability all with language techniques, a quote and context or whatever else you may need to add in.

Honestly I really do not understand the AOs....
Original post by 9989AQA
Honestly I really do not understand the AOs....

From what I remember there AO1) the way you write A02) structure, form and language (you basically analyse a part of it and talk about how it fits into the question ) and AO3) context and how it fits into the question. I might be a bit off with it but if you do all that you can’t go wrong.
Reply 4
Original post by MariannaL
From what I remember there AO1) the way you write A02) structure, form and language (you basically analyse a part of it and talk about how it fits into the question ) and AO3) context and how it fits into the question. I might be a bit off with it but if you do all that you can’t go wrong.

I’ll have a go at some papers with this advice thank u
Original post by 9989AQA
I’ll have a go at some papers with this advice thank u

Good luck and np.
Reply 6