ColtonH5364
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hello! I’m a first year undergraduate student studying Maths at Imperial College London (ICL) and really not happy here!

Bit of background knowledge: The first time I applied for university was back in 2016 age 17 for 2017 entry but it was for Engineering not Maths. My hope to go to Oxbridge was definitely crushed as my AS grades were not great (AABD) but I applied for top universities anyway as I assumed I’d be taking a gap year. Miraculously, I got top offers from universities such as Imperial. I did apply to Oxford and unsurprisingly was rejected pre interview. I then decided to try and work really hard to get the grades required for Oxford but due to extreme circumstances my A Level grades were terrible so I missed my offer for Imperial by a lot. I was expecting it but of course was super disappointed. I then reapplied this time for Maths. I applied to the same universities again (stupidly applied to Oxford with terrible grades but just didn’t know what other university I should put). Again I received offers from all my universities except for Oxford (however I did receive an interview invite from them). So I retook my A Levels said bye to the Oxbridge dream because I thought there’s no point dwelling on it as I’ve got offers from amazing institutions again which I know is more unlikely to happen than likely given my situation with grades. I ended up getting all A*s and looked forward to starting my journey at Imperial. Now I am here, I just hate every single moment of it. The only good part is that I’m in South Kensington so a good nightlife. I’m not saying the students are bad. They’re lovely but the whole university just seems lifeless and depressing. I just can’t bare another day.