The Student Room Group

I’ve applied for Fashion Management but I’m starting to regret it

So I’m in my final year of secondary school and I’ve applied to Nottingham Trent University for their Fashion Management course. Lately I’ve been starting to think it’s not what I want to do, and I’m starting to wish I chose design or fine art. (Honestly I hadn’t a proper portfolio and my teachers barely helped with my applications) I’ve payed my accommodation for NTU, so I can’t really back out now. Help me!
I suggest to not panic, go to that excellent university, try that fashion course for a day or a week, then try for an internal swap to one of their other courses - have a heart to heart talk to one of the lecturers or professors.

I know of people who have successfully changed course (from Geology to Art/French) after just one hour, but who honestly gave it a try - to see what the course actually contained and how it was going to be taught, with what emphasis.

plus, a backup option here: using Clearance/Adjustment: day if your portfolio isn't quite as good as some ppl that they are turning down, that could put you in a pickle now, so. remember that if you do great at school and slightly exceed your expected grades, then you can always phone NTU up on adjustment day (15th August 2019) and discuss if, how, and why you might be able to change to one of their other courses.
Original post by Laoisenibhaoill
So I’m in my final year of secondary school and I’ve applied to Nottingham Trent University for their Fashion Management course. Lately I’ve been starting to think it’s not what I want to do, and I’m starting to wish I chose design or fine art. (Honestly I hadn’t a proper portfolio and my teachers barely helped with my applications) I’ve payed my accommodation for NTU, so I can’t really back out now. Help me!

Hi Laoisenibhaoill,