GCSE Latin Watch

Katiewright.__
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
I’m studying GCSE Latin and I’m really struggling on how to revise. My first exam is in may and I need help on methods to doing well, I have a really bad teacher and therefore find it really difficult to understand endings and tenses and word order etc and would really appreciate some help
han0110
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
I did GCSE Latin 2 years ago and it was pretty awful to revise for, but I got a good grade out of it in the end

What are you specifically struggling with?

My best advice would be for the language papers, revise the vocabulary and tenses so many times that you can see it in your sleep. Even if you don't understand some of the grammar you can still piece the vocabulary and tenses together to form sentences.

is there another teacher you can go see if you need help? you can't really find resources online for GCSE latin so its best to go to someone first hand, even if it is just someone in your class.

Best of luck!
namkeen-kuthi
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
Language is 50% of the marks if you’re doing OCR
as the user said above, vocab and tenses are the most important thing! Quizlet is honestly so worth using for vocab and just gotta sit and learnt the declensions etc

As for the texts... revise them everyday just read it and write the bits where you get stuck on

Good luck!!
elizamunday02
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
Hey, I’m doing OCR Latin GCSE in May too. I’m doing Aeneid Books 4 and 6 and also the Literature and Culture paper. I have to confess that I haven’t spent half as much time on Latin as on my other subjects so I’m a bit worried about it. I’m home educated and I’m not really sure what I have to talk about for the stylistic features in the essays... If anyone has any advice that would be REALLY helpful
fizzy_lizzy
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago