The Student Room Group

Should I mention break in studies in my PS?

Hi!

So bit of backstory; I studied for 3 years at Leicester University but dropped out in the 3rd year due to extreme stress. After approx 3 years I decided to finish my degree with the OU, earning a first class degree. I am now in the process of applying for Masters courses but am struggling a little with my personal statement.

My question is; should I touch upon my break in studies or should I steer clear? I have no problem talking about it or explaining the situation to them, but I’m not sure if it’s the kind of thing that should be mentioned in a personal statement, or if I should leave it for them to ask me in the event of an interview.

Any advice would be much appreciated

Millie
Reply 1
Hi. Well done on getting that far, i'm second year & don't know why you dropped out of 3rd year - so take this advice accordingly.

Personally I wouldn't mention it.

If you did mention it, you'd have to explain the reason why you dropped out - stress - unfortunately that COULD be perceived as a lesser ability to manage difficult situations (assuming it was general life & course troubles), you could swing it back around and say you overcame this and ultimately succeeded which shows determination etc

If the stress was a family death or something, then it might put a depressing note on your PS.

Generally I would say that your PS should be positive and concise, talk about your achievements/aspirations, your qualities and the ones you want to develop, explain why you picked that course and why you want to be there, add in that your social, like new experiences, up for challenges - bit about your hobbies (make them reflect a positive light on you, dont mention how you like to watch Youtube all day, say you like photography and visiting new places - my fave thing to capture is nature & wildlife) <--- 100% not true but you have an image of me being peaceful and having attention to detail.