Mature student starting at Sussex Watch

Seafoamfrankie
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi, I'm 36 (not sure how that happened!) and I'm studying at Sussex in September.

How common is it to find someone in my age range at university? Can anyone else my age give me any insight into what to expect? I'm not really looking for the big social uni experience, but I am concerned some younger people might feel weird about spending lunch/study time with me because of my age. I have some experience of being out of the typical age range as I did a year of professional dance training at 27 and it was a bit of a struggle, but I'm hoping the anthropology crowd will be a bit more open minded.

All advice welcome!
SarcAndSpark
  • Careers Forum Helper
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
I would suggest joining a society or two if you can. Often, there are postgraduate student members of societies as well, who will be closer to your age (or even older), and it's a great way to meet people anyway.

That said, during my undegrad degree we were more than happy to go for coffee and study with the mature students and one of the ladies even came along on our nights out sometimes!
NikkiKate
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
Hi! I am a mature student - will be 35 in September! I will be studying Primary Education! Little scary so will be following this thread too!!
LotteF
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
Well, hopefully there will be a few of us in the same boat! I'm 43 and will be studying psychology in September. It is a bit scary but from the reaction I've received studying this past year at sixth form, I think the other students should be pretty accepting. I can only say good things about my experiences so far

That said, I still haven't made up my mind about going in to halls or looking for a house share somewhere...
(Original post by Seafoamfrankie)
Hi, I'm 36 (not sure how that happened!) and I'm studying at Sussex in September.