let it play
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Has anyone successfully skipped doing a computer science degree at university to study online/fast track their career instead?

Its difficult to justify going to uni and it seems like I could potentially get an entry level role without wasting 3+ years?

Would be good to hear your experiences!
Molseh
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Lots of people have taken this route into Software Dev and had success. According to the 2019 Stack Overflow Dev Survey about 75% had a Bachelors minimum so at least 1/4 of Professional Devs don't have a degree and if you also factor in only 63% of them are CompSci you are getting closer to 1/3 probably that are self taught mostly (if you ignore bootcamps).

I thought about this long and hard as I am late 20s and wanting to career change. These are some of the reasons I decided on doing a CompSci Bachelors over self teaching:
- Structured course, with teaching support and industrial connections of University. I don't trust myself completely to self study based on previous educational history.
- Degrees matter, especially if you are looking to move abroad at some point in your life. They also aid in getting past HR busybodies and if you want to move into Senior Management they are invaluable.
- University life, a bigger reason for a school leaver than myself but the experiences gained will help with the soft skills that may be lacking in some self taught devs. Personally, after 12 years working and a chunk of that in the Military I am looking forward to a slower pace of life for a few years.

Obviously there are downsides such as extortionate costs and it taking a longer period of time to get into the workplace. Only you can really choose what is best for you.
TensorTympani
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Reasons to study online:
1. Location is no longer an important issue