The Student Room Group

Applied for eighty jobs and rejected all

Hello,

I am basically on a gap year and from middle of January I have been applying for jobs at Starbucks, Subway, Topshop and lesser known shops, hotels, coffee shops and bars.

I am getting rejected everywhere I go. All 80 places have rejected me, even for the most basic minimum wage jobs. I have had interviews for a small handful and trial shifts, though no luck.

I spent the beginning of my gap year working at a hotel, then the rest has been a mix of volunteering at charity shops, festivals and a hostel.

Why am I getting rejected? I haven't been mentioning I am on a gap year and will start uni in September, as I thought that might be putting off.

I also have put my grades (A's) and some of the sports and other extra-curricular I do in my spare time.

I don't understand. Should I take away my school grades and extra-curricular?

It's not like I have no experience. Okay, I've only had a paid job once (and it was abroad) but I have done a lot of volunteering and I thought that was a good thing.

Please give advice
Original post by StudyingCat

You need to focus on giving the employer evidence that you have the skills to do the job you are applying for. Starbucks couldn't care less that you have an A* in Geography, they absolutely do want to see evidence that you can serve people, be friendly, keep up a fast pace, follow hygiene rules, use a till etc.

Putting that you will be going to Uni is Sep will put employers off unless they are advertising seasonal work, so either don't mention it, or only apply for summer jobs, or apply to the large chains that have a student programme where you can move the job to your Uni town.
Reply 2
I've put a "skills" section to my CV which lists skills such as customer-service, telephone, reception work

I've also put a paragraph under each job, telling all the skills required eg for the hostel: "the hostel could get very busy and so this required a lot of stamina"