The Student Room Group

Totally stuck!

Wow, this is not a forum I really expected to be writing on. I'm a Year 13 student about to sit my A Levels (English lit, history and Classics) and i have an unconditional offer from Nottingham for history which i have accepted.
But over the last couple weeks i've had this unshakable feeling im making the wrong choice. i know in my heart i should be doing a medical degree. All my life i wanted to do medicine, and then for some reason i picked humanities a levels! Ive regretted it a lot these last 2 years. but i figured id just stick it out and maybe go into medicine later in life.
but now, i seriously know i have to do medicine. the only career i can even begin to imagine is being a doctor. i read medical books and dictionaries in my free time. ive thought hard about this and i know i need to do medicine.
so... how the hell does someone with 3 a levels in humanities, with no work experience even go about getting into medicine? i know i could either resit new a levels, which im open to, or take a foundation course, which im also open to (although i would need to quickly get some work experience).
has anyone else had a vaguely similar experience? any advice? or should i just suffer through my history degree (to be fair i do enjoy history) and take a medical degree later in life? i feel like thats just a needless 30 grand loan if i dont want to do history.
Reply 1
You’d want to look in to doing graduate entry medicine after your degree. To even study medicine it’s a long process, you’ll need to pass the UKCAT or BMAT test, have many weeks of relevant work experience, and study Biology, Chemisty, and Maths. There’s no point repeating a levels as what’s the point of sitting your humanities subjects now then? Follow your dreams later in life.
Reply 2
Hi! Fellow year 13(Ish) here!

Please don't waste 9k a year on a degree that doesn't make you happy.